UAF promotes 17 teachers against rules

FAISALABAD, July 11: The syndicate of University of Agriculture on Tuesday promoted 17 associate professors (as professors) by superseding most-senior faculty members, it is learnt.

The promotion issue was the main item of the meeting chaired by vice-chancellor Dr Bashir Ahmed.

Sources privy to the meeting said Biradrism (having deep roots in this institution) was reflected again on Tuesday when the administration dominated by a certain clan selected like-minded faculty members in violation of rules and regulations.

Some of the syndicate members said the move would shock senior teachers but their concerns were ignored.

The criterion set by the administration for promotion was 15 years experience and a minimum of 12 publications printed in journals of repute.

Despite having the required qualification, 17 associate professors serving in different departments were not considered for promotion.

The ignored faculty members are: Dr Sohail Ahmed, Dr Manzoor Sahi, Dr Mohammad Jalal and Dr Mohammad Afzal of Entomology, Dr Iqbal Mustafa from Livestock, Dr Safdar, Dr Pervaiz from Animal Breeding and Genetics department, Dr Maqbool Ahmed Dogar and Dr Ijaz Ahmed from Animal Reproduction, Dr Irshad Ahmed and Dr Sajjad Ahmed of Veterinary Microbiology, Dr Khalil Ahmed from Chemistry, Dr Masood Akhtar from Veterinary Parasitology, Dr Manzoor Ahmed from Farm Machinery and Power, Dr Khalid from Soil and Environmental Sciences, Dr Ahsan Khaliq from Plant Breeding and Genetics department and Dr Nazir Javeed from Plant Pathology.

They have been serving in the university for last 20 years and have required numbers of publications against their names.

Seven like-minded were promoted on regular and 10 on temporary seats.

Those promoted against regular seats are: Dr Mohammad Aslam from Plant Pathology, Dr Anas Sarwar Qureshi from Veterinary Entomology, Dr Abdul Wahid and Dr Mumtaz Hussain from Botany, Dr Tahira Iqbal and Dr Asghar Bajwa from Chemistry and Dr Mohammad Iqbal from DG Khan Campus.

Those promoted against temporary seats are: Dr Javed from Institute of Soil Sciences, Dr Hafiz Ahmed and Dr Asif from Plant Breeding, Dr Aman and Dr Faqir from Horticulture department, Dr Shehzad from Crop Physiology, Dr Nisar Ahmed from Parasitology, Dr Tariq Javeed from Veterinary Pathology, Dr Allah Bux from Irrigation and Dr Faizan from Structural Environmental department.

Sources said many teachers had approached the governor/ chancellor, seeking his intervention on the issue of criteria. The governor ordered a probe into the matter and asked the Punjab agriculture secretary to submit a report.

The inquiry officer, sources said, had declared that the criteria was against the Higher Education Commission rules.

The UAF administration, however, did not pay any heed. Additional secretary (agriculture) Mussawar Naqvi who was also present in Tuesday's meeting reportedly drew the syndicate attention towards the findings of the agriculture secretary and said the report was still pending with the chancellor, but the administration approved the promotions. A writ petition has also been filed with the LHC. The UAF administration decided the matter taking the advantage of court vacation. Dawn



Post your Feedback about information available on this page.