ATI, IJT protest blasphemous caricatures

Lahore, Marach 04, 2008: Activists of the Anjuman-e-Talaba Islam (ATI) and the Islami Jamiat Talaba (IJT) staged protest demonstrations on Monday to condemn the republication of blasphemous caricatures.

The ATI's protest demonstration was held outside the Lahore Press Club in which a large number of students participated to express their resentment over republication of the sacrilegious caricatures.

The protestors were carrying placards and chanting slogans against Denmark. They demanded of the government to end diplomatic ties with the Danish government. Addressing the protestors, ATI Madaris Council Punjab vice-chairman Hafiz Wahid Ahmed Awan said by republishing blasphemous caricatures, the Danish media had exposed its enmity for Islam.

Meanwhile, the Islami Jamiat Talaba (IJT), the Punjab University chapter, also staged a demonstration at the PU Law College against republication of profane caricatures. The participants of the demonstration also demanded of the government to end diplomatic dies with Denmark.

PSF for student bodies' revival
Lahore: The People's Students Federation (PSF) has asked its parent body, the Pakistan People's Party, to lift the ban from student unions across the country after forming the government in the centre.

This was stated by PSF Punjab President Matloob Shah during a press conference at the Lahore Press Club on Monday. Earlier, the press conference was scheduled to be held by Rai Ejaz Ahmed who did not turn up at the occasion.

The PSF president, accompanied by other office-bearers of the PPP affiliated student wing, demanded an action on priority bases by the newly elected government in this regard. Prior to this, the PSF president had informed that a meeting of office bearers had expressed full confidence in the leadership of Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari and vowed to fulfil the mission of Benazir Bhutto. He said the PSF would endorse decisions taken by Asif Zardari by following the will of late party leader, Ms Bhutto. They demanded that student bodies should be allowed to raise their concerns from student platforms and there should be properly elected bodies. The News

GCU (team A) wins Shahjiwana 2008 at UCL
Lahore: University College Lahore (UCL) hosted its 13th Annual and 5th International Shahjiwana Debating Championship 2008 on Friday, 29th February 2008. The Shahjiwana cup was won by Government College University (GCU team A) on the finals held on Monday, 3rd March, 2008. The winners were Sophia Anis Siddiqui and Hamza Ijaz, while the ruuners up were Syed Waqas Jafri and Waleed Hussain of Lahore Grammar School Johar Town Branch (team A).

The event began on Friday with two rounds in which 43 teams from all over Pakistan took part. The teams came from Lahore mainly, however, there were certain teams that came from southern Punjab, Balochistan and Sindh; namely, Bloomfield Hall Sahiwal, Balochistan University of Information Technology Engineeering and Management Sciences, Hamdard University Karachi, Agha Khan University and Sir Syed University of Engineering and Technology.

On Friday, the initial rounds took place, in which all 43 teams took part. This stage involved all teams being randomly drawn and matched against each other. It comprised five rounds, three of which took place the next day, Saturday, March 1st, 2008. At the end of the five initial rounds, eight teams broke into the quarter finals; namely, Government College University (team A), Government College University (team B), Lahore School of Economics (team B), Agha Khan University, Lahore Grammar School Johar Town branch (team A), Resource Academia, SICAS (team A) and SISA (team A). After the results were announced, the teams were invited to attend a concert held on the premises, later during the evening.

Sunday, March 2nd, 2008 saw the beginning of the quarterfinals. After a close match, four teams broke into the semi finals; namely, Government College University (team A), Government College University (team B), Lahore Grammar School Johar Town branch (team A) and SICAS (team A). The event ended with Government College University (team A) and Lahore Grammar School Johar Town branch (team A) breaking into the finals after which the teams were invited to watch a play within the premises, performed by UCL's GCE students.

On Monday, March 3rd, 2008, the final round was initiated by Saboor Karamat (Deputy Chief Adjudicator Shahjiwana) at 12pm between the two teams and was judged by a panel of seven judges. The judges were Asim Ali Bokhari, Rafay Alam (UCL faculty member), Rehman Azhar, Sara Riaz (UCL faculty member), Attaullah Tarar (Deputy Chief Adjudicator, Shahjiwana), Ali Mujahid (Vice President UCL Debating Society and Deputy Chief Adjudicator Shahjiwana) and Umer Rashid (President UCL Debating Society and Chief Adjudicator Shahjiwana). The debate was chaired by Aaliya Khan and timed by Aisha Khokhar (Event Incharge and General Secretary Shahjiwana). With a decision of five against two, Government College University (team A) won the Shahjiwana cup and a special trophy commemorating the services of the late Waleed Iqbal to UCL's Debating Society, the Waleed Iqbal Best Speaker Trophy for Shahjiwana 2008, was awarded to University of Engineering and Technology's Mohsin Ashraf. The topic for the final round was 'This House believes that article 58 (2B) should be abolished'. Daily Times



Post your Feedback about information available on this page.